Soibum (Bamboo shoot) Eromba

I learnt this from Baba who visited me recently. I made this yesterday and all my manipuri guest loved it 🙂

  • 1 can of Bamboo Shoot (You get this in any korean store in different type, sliced bamboo shoot, laiwa etc)
  • 1 Nagri ( you get this in Bangladeshi shop) –  wash and wrap it in aluminium foil
  • 1 medium size potato, peel and cut it into 3 pieces
  • Red dry full chilly – 7 to 10
  • Dry fish like ngamu or piece of big fish
  • Maroi (tokningkok, coriender, spring onion, onion)
  • Salt to taste

Pressure cook with water all the ingredients except maroi and salt for 3 whistles. Strain and let it cool.

Smash and mix well the red chilly, ngari and salt. (Baba says that the taste of eromba depends on how well u mix these 3 ingredients 🙂 So spent 2-3 mins in mixing it. Remove the small bones from the nagmu or fish piece and mix it.

Smash potato and Bamboo shoot and mix very well so that ngari, chilly and salt will touch every bit of potato and bamboo shoot. Add little bit of water and mix again.

Garnish with maroi and tasty soibum eromba is ready to eat.

13 responses to “Soibum (Bamboo shoot) Eromba

  1. hey Monica,

    I have never had Manipuri food, and am loving going through your manipuri recipes…

    But, Please!!!!…explain the specialty ingredients more. What is nagri? and what is tokningkok?…maybe a photograph of these…
    Wow, i am so excited to try out a manipuri dish…

  2. hey monica….can u help me out in preparing VARIOUS DISHES WITH NGARI…i wanna serve my gonna be wife whoz a manipuri

  3. hai monica …….i love to seen this sites.
    When i read this i filled hungry .I should be love to talks with u.now I was in Singapore.This days i remembered manipuri fooods.i love to see this thing on the nets again………,i love u ngariiiiiiii……………………………ri .

  4. hai Monica,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    I was so good to see again manipur cuisines
    L love it so .But I do’t know how to prepared manipuri special pakoura mahi If u know means please tell me …. that should very kindness allllllllllllllll……………..of u.
    thanks ….

  5. hai Monica,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    I was so good to see again manipur cuisines
    L love it so .But I do’t know how to prepared manipuri special pakoura mahi If u know means please tell me …. that should very kindness allllllllllllllll……………..of u.
    thanks ….

  6. hi monica
    I love manipuri cuisine and I love to eat mainly manipuri special soibum eromba . It is delicious and so testy i never forget it . Now I was so interest to eat these things in against of my friends from delhi.In first They have neglected to eat eromba but now they also so interested to eat this type of manipuri special cuisine……………
    i have thanks all of u which try to elongated the manipuri special cuisine to the world wide..

  7. hi monica its my first time visiting your websites it look so good. i have a Q for you where do we get yongchak (parkia roxburghii) in US cos am in USA rightnow and am dying to taste manipuri food yummm!
    hopefully you’ll reply me back

  8. hi Monica
    Nice to think more about of this site which proclaimed especially for manpuri cuisine >.
    I miss lots of manipuri Yongchak Eromba with put some loklie pulie cuisine .
    I thanks all of of u especially Monica… which try rarelly to have a place Manipri cuisine through the world …..One day it shall be top of the world cuisine lists…so i was so glad read this site ,,,,so plz tell me how to prepare manipuri especial pakoura mahi in manipuri style .plssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
    thankssssssss

  9. hi Monica
    Now i miss lots of Manipuri Cuisine >>>>>>
    pls tell me how to prepare Manipuri especial Pakoura Mahi ..
    thanksssssssss

Leave a Reply

